Loyaulté me Lie – info and reveiws

Back to Loyaulté me Lie | Back to album page

'If you are a supporter of Richard III you will love the lyrics on this album. If you enjoy mediaeval music with a modern twist you will love the music too! My husband said he thought the style reminded him of Rick Wakeman and I must say I can see his point. However, The Legendary Ten Seconds have their own unique style which is a perfect combination of modern electronic folk and a mediaeval twist. The songs mean something and, for a Ricardian, they are poignant and moving as well. I have a few favourites which are: York City Fayre, Lord Anthony Woodville (never thought I'd say that!), Fanfare for the King and The King in the Car Park. The Battle of Barnet Song is a rather amusing song about Yorkist soldiers turning up too late and too drunk to fight. It's very original and the tunes are catchy.’ by Joanne Larner

The reviews from Amazon UK

All tracks reviewed on Murrey and Blue (Medieval Blog) click here


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Ricardian Album, 5 May 2015 By 
By: Fiona (Northumberland England)

Very enjoyable album with some nice songs which tell the story of Richard from boyhood through to his death at Bosworth. Something totally different to listen to either at home or in the car. Probably not everyones taste but I enjoyed it.


5.0 out of 5 stars life and death of King Richard in song, 7 Feb. 2015
By:  StoneLord1 "J.P. REEDMAN" (England) 

A great idea, chronicling the life and death of King Richard and ending with the finding of his remains in a carpark in Leicester. Interesting blend of rock, folk and medieval-sounding music.


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend to all my fellow Ricardians, 7 Feb. 2015
By:  warrior princess

An essential for all lovers of electric folk, exciting stuff! Highly recommend to all my fellow Ricardians, a tribute to our King


5.0 out of 5 stars Ricardian delight, 5 Feb. 2015
By: Devon Dumpling (Devon UK) 

Another vastly enjoyable CD by the Legenbdary Ten Seconds


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely easy listening CD for any Richard 3rd fan., 19 Aug. 2014
By: Lolly

Great CD, very good service fully recommend. Bought as a gift for my sister a Richard 3rd fan.


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great idea, 19 Feb 2014
By R. Tan (England) 

What an unusual and innovative way not only to introduce people through music to the era but also support a good cause in the process. (Scoliosis) Enjoyable music tracks and educational. Congratulations on the variety of compilation.


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album!, 7 Jan 2014
By Sarah 

Fanstastic concept album, feel like Im getting transported back to King Richard's Era! Brilliantly produced and great use of instruments, can't reccomend enough.


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, 20 Dec 2013
By jazzycat "Gloucestershire Girl" (Gloucestershire, England)

If you like good folksy music with a modern slant, excellent production, originality and King Richard III, here's where to find all four. As a Ricardian, I wondered what this could possibly be like, but the word is SUPERB. I have played the whole thing a number of times already, even though I only bought it this morning and it's not yet even 1 p.m.

I must also congratulate whoever created the excellent cover art.

Definitely a good buy that conjures the period and charisma of Richard III, and I have no hesitation at all in recommending it. Enjoy!


5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Rock Mellotron and true soul, 14 Dec 2013
By Tide

The first concept album that i've listened to in a long time. And I love it more and more with each play. Brilliant to hear the sounds of the Mellotrons yet again creating a fantastic atmospheric album in the folk rock tradition. Long Live Good King Richard!!!


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Well Done, 29 Jun 2014
By R.J.Temple

Enjoy music and learn history at the same time! Presumably most people who buy this album already have an interest in Richard III, but that isn’t a pre-requisite; there’s plenty of good music to enjoy regardless of the lyrical content. However the style and feel of the music is so fitting, it transports you back to the medieval period, that it will undoubtedly appeal to those with an affinity for the period.

Described as folk/rock, it is certainly a mix of styles based around guitars as lead instrument and a solid rhythm section, along with a wide selection of other instruments and sounds. Certain songs can stand alone, like the excellent opening track York City Fayre, and the stirring instrumental Tudor Danse with its rich tapestry of sounds. Other songs chart the evolving story of Richard.

This album is worth a five star rating for its effort and originality, and the recording and production are also excellent. You don’t need to be a student of history to enjoy this, but if not it will have you reaching for the history books to learn more about the life and times.


5.0 out of 5 stars  23 Dec 2013
By La Liseuse

I heard about the album through my local branch of the Richard III Society. Since I downloaded it I have played it over and over again (I hope my dog likes it!). I have it on my computer and on a flash drive in my car. I like the sentiments; Richard needs a lot of good things said about him; and I think it is a very clever mix of folk rock and the mediaeval tones of Richard's time. It also brings home the uncertainties of life at this time in history; how quickly death and/or disaster could strike.
Go out and buy it!


5.0 out of 5 stars 22 Dec 2013
By W. W. Ingalls

In this brilliant collection of songs, the Legendary Ten Seconds reveal the unquenched fighting spirit of the House of York and the steadfast loyalty of Good King Richard. They also bring to life the haunting sadness of death itself. This album is indeed worthy of King Richard III's motto. Wayne Ingalls, Immediate Past Chairman, The Richard III Society, American Branch. R3.org


5.0 out of 5 stars Go King Richard., 12 May 2014
By R. L. Bright "RoB B"

Great. Original and a great concept. I recommend it to anyone interested in music or history from that period. Brill.


5.0 out of 5 stars Richard III, 3 April 2014
By Elizabeth Borson

The music on this album by The Legendary Ten Seconds is hauntingly beautiful. I belong to the Richard III Society, but I would recommend this CD to anyone with an interest in Medieval music. I enjoy listening to the life of Richard III set in song. It is an enjoyable way to feel the atmosphere of 15th century England! I listen to this CD in bed to fall asleep to and it transports me to Richard III's world using music and my imagination. I find it very comforting! I highly recommend the CD!!!


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique musique!, 3 Jan 2014
By Mrs. K. E. Williams "Singing Cat" (Nottingham. UK)

Something totally different to listen to, with a distinctive sound. Subject matter is different as well. Really pleased I heard of this group, I would certainly buy more stuff if it's this quality.


Review of Loyaulte Me Lie, Dickon Independent, issue 91. The magazine of the Worcestershire branch of the Richard III Society


The CD is a collection of music and lyrics reflecting the life and times of King Richard III. 

Ian Churchward, a talented singer/songwriter, was inspired by the Channel 4 Documentary “The King in the Car Park” broadcast in February 2013. Knowing little about Richard III, he set out to read as much as he could over the following months and then put together this collection of music and lyrics all written and performed by him. His wife also had some input into the lyrics. He is using this music to raise money and awareness for a scoliosis charity, SAUK. The music has a folk rock sound butstrongly evokes the music from the time of the King. The words are very clever especially, in my opinion, those of The King in the Car Park. He started playing guitar and singing with a band in 1982 and since then has played with several bands, mostly English folk rock, once enjoying air time on a John Peel show. On this CD he is accompanied by his band, The Legendary Ten Seconds, with his friend “Lord Zarquon” on keyboards. Lord Zarquon was also responsible for the mixing and production of the album. I downloaded the album in December 2013 when it was first released and still play it frequently now, so I thoroughly recommend it. It is available as a download from Amazon and iTunes, and the physical CD is available from Ian. 

Written by Judy Jacobs

Back to Loyaulté me Lie | Back to album page

© Rainbow Starshine Productions 2019 - Version 6.0.9 June 2019